Fermiers et Nomades de l’Amdo

Tibet (Amdo) | 15 jours

Loading...

 

Ce voyage est conçu pour vous faire vivre deux expériences d’immersion dans le quotidien des Tibétains : D’abord, dans une famille de fermiers ou nous vous invitons à participer aux travaux des champs et autres tâches quotidiennes, puis chez des nomades qui vous mettront aussi à contribution (si vous le souhaitez). Ce voyage vous permettra également d’assister aux fêtes des shamans de Repgong. La visite des sites culturels majeurs de l’Amdo et bien sûr la découverte de magnifiques paysages viendront compléter ce périple dans une région tibétaine encore peu connu.

 Points forts

  • Votre guide tibétain qui vous fait découvrir sa culture.
  • Immersion dans le quotidien des Tibétains avec nuits chez l’habitant : deux nuits dans une famille de fermiers puis deux nuits dans un camp de nomades.
  • La fête des shamans de Repgong.
  • Visite des sites historiquement importants et sacrés de l’Amdo.
  • La découverte de magnifiques paysages avec de multiples occasions de promenades.

 

 

Jour 1 : Arrivée à Chengdu et vol vers Xining (2 275 m d’altitude)

  • CHENGDU : Accueil à l’aéroport par un membre de l’équipe de Global Nomad puis vol vers Xining, capitale de la province du Qinghai.
  • XINING: Accueil à l’aéroport par votre guide et votre chauffeur puis transfert à votre hôtel (40 min de route). Selon l’heure d’arrivée, visite d’un petit temple en ville et promenade dans les rues.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 2 : Xining – Trika (2 000 m)

  • Distance : 130 km. Durée approximative de transport : 2 h.
  • Excursion au monastère de Kumbum Jampaling. Fondé en 1560, il est situé sur le lieu de naissance de Tsongkhapa, fondateur de l’école Géluk du bouddhisme tibétain.
  • L’après-midi, route vers Trika (Guide en chinois) et promenade le long du Fleuve Jaune.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 3 : Trika – Achung Namdzong – Yadzi (2 040 m)

  • Distance : 250 km. Durée approximative de transport : 5 h.
  • Route vers le site d’Achung Namdzong (3 000 m d’altitude), l’un des trois sites les plus sacrés de l’Amdo. C’est dans les ermitages de ce site que se sont réfugiés les trois moines venus du Tibet Central qui ont permis la préservation de la tradition monastique bouddhiste.
  • Visite de Samten Chöpelleng, la plus importante nonnerie de tradition Nyingma de l’Amdo. A proximité vous montez sur une montagne (2 h de marche aller-retour sur de bons escaliers en bois). Vos efforts seront largement récompensés par la magnifique vue que vous aurez au sommet.
  • Dans l’après-midi, route vers Yadzi (Xunhua en chinois) région habitée par des Tibétains et des Salars. Les Salars étaient à l’origine un peuple venu d’Asie centrale par la route de la soie. Ils se sont installés dans cette région et se sont mariés avec des Tibétaines. De religion musulmane, leurs traditions et leur langue comportent des éléments provenant de la culture tibétaine.
  • Vous vous rendez dans un petit village de fermier où vous accueille une famille tibétaine.
  • Nuit chez l’habitant.

 

Jour 4 : Yadzi

  • Vous découvrez les activités qui rythment le quotidien des fermiers tibétains et vous participez, si vous le souhaitez, aux travaux des champs et autres tâches quotidiennes.
  • Vous pourrez aussi vous promener dans le village et sur les collines environnantes ou découvrir un petit monastère plus haut dans la vallée.
  • Nuit chez l’habitant.

 

Jour 5 : Yadzi – Repgong (2 600 m)

  • Distance : 100 km. Durée approximative de transport : 1 h 30.
  • Découverte du lieu de naissance du 10ème Panchen-Lama (la deuxième lignée de réincarnations la plus importante après celle des Dalaï-Lamas). Vous visitez sa maison, une belle demeure traditionnelle de fermiers de l’Amdo, et le grand stupa à proximité.
  • Visite du monastère de Bimdo. C’est dans ce monastère que le précédent Panchen-Lama (lignée de réincarnations la plus importante après celle des Dalaï-Lamas) a débuté ses études monastiques. Vous rencontrez des moines auxquels vous pouvez poser vos questions sur la philosophie bouddhiste.
  • Route vers Repgong, (Tongren en Chinois) une région particulièrement réputée pour ses écoles de peinture de thangkas (peintures religieuses) qui ornent la plupart des monastères de l’Amdo. L’art de Repgong a été inscrit en 2009 au patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité par l’UNESCO.
  • Un peu avant d’arriver en ville, vous visitez les monastères de Senggéshong (supérieur et inférieur) aux stupas si joliment décorés et un atelier dans le petit village près du monastère.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 6 : Repgong

  • Vous assister à la fête des chamans de Repgong. Cette fête témoigne de la vitalité et de l’importance des traditions et croyances pré-bouddhiques dans la culture tibétaine. La nature est habitée d’esprits avec lesquels il est important de maintenir de bonnes relations. A cette occasion le peuple entre en contact direct avec sa divinité tutélaire, par l’intermédiaire d’un oracle.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 7 : Repgong

  • Visite d’un petit musée crée par d’une des meilleurs écoles de peinture de thangkas de Repgong. C’est l’occasion de se familiariser avec les techniques, les styles et le sens religieux de cet art.
  • Visite du monastère de Rongbo au sud de la ville. D’abord construit au 14e siècle par le maitre Lama Samten Rinchen, émissaire de Drogön Chögyel Pakpa, il a été reconstruit au 16e siècle par Lama Kelden Rinchen de l’école Géluk. Le monastère de Rongbo est maintenant un important monastère auquel 35 autres monastères de la région sont reliés.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 8 : Repgong – Labrang (2 900 m)

  • Distance : 140 km. Durée approximative de transport : 4 h.
  • Le matin, vous prenez une jolie route qui vous mène à Labrang (Xiahe en chinois) en traversant des petits villages de fermiers, des régions boisées puis de riches pâturages (plusieurs arrêts sont prévus pour profiter du paysage). En chemin, vous déjeunez dans une famille de nomade et vous visitez du monastère de Tsézhik de tradition Bön (religion tibétaine antérieure au Bouddhisme).
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 9 : Labrang

  • Visite du monastère de Labrang Tashikhyil, le plus grand complexe monastique de l’Amdo. Il fut fondé en 1709 par le premier Künkhyen Jamyang Zhépa qui été considéré comme une émanation du maître de Tsongkhapa, le fondateur de l’école Géluk. Vous découvrez également l’imprimerie du monastère où vous observez la méthode traditionnelle d’impression utilisant des blocs de bois gravés. Les textes sacrés ainsi imprimés seront utilisés dans les monastères des alentours. Vous pouvez ensuite vous promener autour du monastère avec les pèlerins, dans les villages et sur les collines environnantes.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 10 : Labrang – Taktsang Lhamo (3 300 m)

  • Distance : 280 km. Durée approximative de transport : 4 h.
  • Route vers Taktsang Lhamo (Langmusi en chinois), une petite ville tibétaine avec deux monastères mis en valeur par un joli cadre de montagnes, forêts et pâturages qui l’entourent.
  • Visite du monastère de Kirti de l’école Géluk. Derrière, se trouvent deux grottes, la grotte du Tigre (Taktsang signifie repaire du tigre en tibétain) et la grotte sacrée de Palden Lhamo (divinité féminine, protectrice du Tibet). Il est dit que Padmasambhava, le grand maître bouddhiste qui a permis l’introduction du bouddhisme au Tibet, est venu bénir ce lieu mais les habitants n’osaient pas s’en approcher à cause de la présence de tigres. Bien plus tard, Kirti Rinpoché, élève de Tsongkhapa, le fondateur de l’ordre Géluk, a fait partir le tigre, permettant ainsi aux pèlerins d’accéder à ce site sacré et d’y rendre hommage à Palden Lhamo. Un peu plus loin, un chemin pénétrant dans un joli petit vallon encaissé débouche sur une prairie au-dessus de laquelle tournoient aigles et vautours.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 11 : Taktsang Lhamo – Camp de nomades (3 600 m)

  • Distance : 90 km. Durée approximative de transport : 2 h.
  • Le matin, vous vous rendez au monastère de Sertri (trône doré) qui offre une belle vue sur la zone boisée et les sommets. A proximité, vous découvrez un site de funérailles célestes.
  • Apres le déjeuner, départ en bus vers les vastes espaces des pasteurs nomades de l’Amdo, puis vous poursuivez à pied (3 h de marches) vers un campement de nomades. Vous faites connaissance avec une famille et vous prenez part à leurs activités quotidiennes afin de mieux appréhender leur mode de vie.
  • Nuit en camp.

 

Jour 12 : Camp de nomades

  • Levé matinal pour assister à la traite des dris (femelles des yacks) et participer si vous le souhaitez aux travaux de votre famille d’accueil (allumer le poêle, ramasser et stocker les bouses de yacks, amener les yacks aux pâturages, préparer les repas, faire du beurre ou du yaourt, ramener les bêtes au camp pour la nuit…)
  • Nuit en camp.

 

Jour 13 : Camp de nomades – Linxia (2 000 m)

  • Distance : 360 km. Durée approximative de transport : 7 h.
  • Le matin, vous rejoignez la route (2 h de marche) où vous attend votre véhicule.
  • Départ vers Linxia, ville musulmane aux nombreuses mosquées, autrefois arrêt important sur la route de la soie.
  • En chemin, vous vous arrêterez à Tsö (Hezuo en chinois) pour visiter Serkhar Gutok (littéralement « château doré aux 9 étages ». Ce bâtiment commémore un épisode de la vie de Milarépa, le plus célèbre des yogis tibétains. Ses neuf étages présentent des statuts d’un grand nombre d’éminents personnages historiques laïcs et religieux tibétains disposés par étage selon la tradition du bouddhisme qu’ils ont enseignée.
  • A Linxia, promenade dans les rues le long des marchés locaux où les commerçants tibétains s’approvisionnent en tapis, objets religieux, pierres, couteaux, etc.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 14 : Linxia – Jampa Kumbum – Lanzhou (1 600 m)

  • Distance : 300 km. Durée approximative de transport : 5 h.
  • Après une heure de route, vous prenez un bateau et vous arrivez dans un lieu d’une grande beauté, au site de Jampa Kumbum (Binlingsi en chinois). Jampa Kumbum signifie « 100 000 Jampa » en tibétain (Jampa étant le nom du Bouddha du futur). Vous y découvrez un ensemble artistique d’une grande valeur : du 5e siècle à la dernière dynastie chinoise, des artistes ont sculptés dans des grottes et à même les falaises des bouddhas de différentes tailles et de différents styles artistiques. On dénombre 183 grottes, 694 statues sculptées et 82 statues de terre. Les fresques sont aussi des merveilles. Une statue de 27 m de haut est particulièrement impressionnante. Elle représente Jampa, « Maitreya » en sancrit, le bouddha du futur. Après la visite de ce site, vous partez à pied (1h de marche ou 10 minutes en voiturette) découvrir un petit monastère tibétain. Ce monastère, rescapé de la révolution culturelle, où il ne reste plus que trois moines, est si agréable, que l’on y passerait des heures à prendre le thé et à bavarder avec les pèlerins de passage.
  • Route vers Lanzhou dans l’après-midi.
  • Nuit à l’hôtel.

 

Jour 15 : Départ de Lanzhou

  • Transfert à l’aéroport de Lanzhou (1 à 2 h selon les embouteillages) pour votre vol de retour.

 

Les temps de transport ci-dessus sont approximatifs et ne comprennent pas les arrêts (pour aller aux toilettes, pour prendre des photos..). Par ailleurs, les conditions climatiques, les travaux sur la route, la circulation et les réglementations liées à la circulation peuvent aussi rallonger le temps de transport.

 

Départ de Du Au Prix
Chengdu 11 juin 2019 25 juin 2019 2428 €

Prix pour un groupe de 6 à 7 personnes :  

2 428 € par personne en chambres/tentes partagées

2 722 € par personne en chambres*/tentes individuelles

Ce prix comprend

  • Les transferts mentionnés dans le programme en véhicule privé avec chauffeur
  • L’hébergement, petit déjeuners inclus
  • Les déjeuners et dîners (une boisson comprise par repas)
  • Les billets d’entrée pour les sites indiqués dans le programme
  • La prestation d’un guide tibétain anglophone
  • Jour 11, 12 et 13 : portage des bagages (un petit bagage par personne) au camp de nomade, tentes et matelas de camping – Les sacs de couchage ne sont pas fournis (il est possible de les louer à Xining si vous nous informez au moment de la réservation. Prix de la location : 50 ).
  • Les billets d’avion Chengdu – Xining (jour 1) et Lanzhou – Chengdu (jour 15)

 

Ce prix ne comprend pas

  • Les frais d’obtention du visa pour la Chine
  • Les assurances accident et maladie
  • Les frais médicaux et de rapatriement
  • Les billets d’avion vols internationaux
  • Les dépenses supplémentaires dues à des circonstances indépendantes de notre volonté
  • Les sacs de couchages pour les camps
  • Les boissons et dépenses personnelles
  • Les pourboires du guide et du chauffeur

 

*Il n’est pas possible d’avoir de chambre individuelle dans les auberges et chez l’habitant.

 

Hébergement

Hôtels suivants ou similaires :

Xining: Jinjiang Inn Hotel (2*)

Trika: Ledu Hotel (2*)

Repgong: Repgong Hotel (2*)

Labrang : Baoma Hotel (2*)

Taktsang Lhamo: Langmusi Hotel (2*)

Linxia: Linxia Hotel (2*)

Lanzhou: Super 8 Hotel (2*)

Notez que le standard des hôtels correspond à une évaluation de Global Nomad

2* = Simple et propre

3* = Très confortable

Dans les hôtels, si vous souhaitez une chambre avec un grand lit, veuillez nous en avertir lors de la confirmation de votre voyage. Nous verrons alors si ces chambres sont disponibles.

Nuit au monastère ou chez l’habitant : confort très limité. Il n’y a pas de salle de bain, une bassine d’eau et un thermos d’eau chaude vous seront fournis. Il y a des toilettes très rudimentaires, à l’extérieur.

 

En raison de l’altitude élevée du plateau tibétain, il est important d’être en bonne santé pour effectuer ce voyage. Si votre santé n’est pas très bonne, il est conseillé de demander l’avis d’un médecin avant de prendre la décision de partir au Tibet. Pendant le voyage, et en particulier les premiers jours et au-dessus de 4 000 m, il est important de bien s’hydrater (boire au minimum 2 litres d’eau par jour) et informer votre guide de tout problème de santé ou fatigue anormale.

Nous nous réservons le droit de faire des modifications de cet itinéraire en cas de circonstances indépendantes de notre volonté, liées aux spécificités des régions tibétaines.

Il ne faut pas aborder de questions d’ordre politique avec le guide et les Tibétains en général. Cela pourrait avoir de graves conséquences pour eux ainsi que pour le chauffeur,  l’agence locale et tous ses employés. De même, il ne faut rien emporter qui pourrait déplaire aux autorités locales.

Pendant le voyage, les clients doivent suivre les consignes du guide et de l’agence locale.

 



Jimpa Travel
Posez votre question
Réserver

Télécharger

Fermiers et Nomades de l'Amdo

Trouver un voyage

Mois de départ

Farmers and Nomads of Amdo

Tibet (Amdo) | 15 Days

Loading...

 

This trip is designed for you to spend two days immersed in local families, firstly with farmers and then amongst the nomads. For these two days, you will be welcomed into the family and have the opportunity to participate in daily activities and gain a better understanding of Tibetan farming and nomadic people, life and culture. This trip will also allow you to attend the celebrations of Repgong shaman festival. The visit of some of the most important historical and sacred sites in Amdo, and the beautiful landscapes will complete this journey in a Tibetan area still little known. 

Highlights

  • Your Tibetan guide who will introduce you to his/her culture.
  • Two nights immersed in Tibetan daily life with a family of farmers and two nights at a nomadic camp.
  • Repgong Shaman Festival
  • Visit some of the most important historical and sacred sites of Amdo region.
  • Beautiful landscapes with plenty of short walking opportunities.

 

Day 1: Arrival in Chengdu and flight to Xining (2,275 meters above sea level)

  • CHENGDU: You will be met at Chengdu Airport by one of the Global Nomad team members and then take your flight to Xining, capital of Qinghai Province.
  • XINING: Your local driver and guide will meet you at Xining airport and you will go to your hotel (40 min driving) where you can relax for a while. Today and depending on the time of your arrival you will visit some small Buddhist temples in the center of Xining and walk in the streets.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 2: Xining – Trika (2 000 m)

  • Distance: 130 km. Approximate travel time: 2 hrs.
  • You will visit the monastery of Kumbum Jampaling (Taer Si in Chinese). This is one of the six most important monasteries of the Géluk school of Tibetan Buddhism. Founded in 1560, it was built at the birthplace of Tsongkhapa, the founder of the Géluk tradition.
  • In the afternoon, drive to Trika (Guide in Chinese) and walk along the Yellow River.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 3: Trika – Achung Namdzong – Yadzi (2 040 m)

  • Distance: 250 km. Approximate travel time: 5 hrs.
  • You will drive to Achung Namdzong (3,000m above sea level), one of the three most holy sites in the Amdo region. It was in the hermitages of these sites that three monks from Central Tibet took refuge from persecution by the 9th century King Langdarma in order to preserve their Buddhist monastic traditions.
  • You’ll visit Samten Chöpelleng, the largest Nyingma nunnery in Amdo and climb a mountain (with stairs) where you will enjoy a breathtaking view of Achung Namdzong.
  • In the afternoon, you will drive to Yadzi (Xunhua in Chinese) a region inhabited by the Tibetan and Salar people. The Salars are originally a people from Central Asia who came by the Silk Road and settled in this area of Amdo and intermarried with the Tibetan women. The Salas are Muslim, however their language and traditions have many elements of Tibetan culture.
  • You will then go to a small village where a Tibetan farming family welcomes you.
  • Overnight:

 

Day 4: Yadzi

  • Today is a day of immersion in the life of Amdo Tibetan farmers. You will discover their daily life and participate if you wish, to their work in the fields and other daily tasks.
  • You can also take stroll through the village or countryside and go to the small monastery up in the valley.
  • Overnight:

 

Day 5: Yadzi – Repgong (2 600 m)

  • Distance: 100 km. Approximate travel time: 1.5 hrs.
  • In the morning you drive to the birthplace of the 10th Panchen-Lama (the second most important lineage of reincarnated masters after the Dalaï-Lamas). You will visit his family house and a big stupa nearby.
  • Visit Bimdo monastery where the previous Panchen-Lama began his monastic studies. You will meet monks to whom you can ask questions about Buddhist philosophy.
  • Drive to Repgong(Tongren in Chinese). Regarded in many respects as the heart of Amdo, Repgong is particularly renowned for its schools of thangka painting (religious paintings) many of which adorn monasteries in the region. In 2009, the Repgong arts was recognized as part of UNESCO’s ‘Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity’.
  • Before arriving in town, you will visit the monasteries of Senggéshong (upper and lower) with their beautifully decorated stupas, and a village art workshop near the monastery.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 6: Repgong

  • You attend to Repgong shaman festival. This festival shows the vitality and importance of the pre-Buddhist traditions and beliefs in Tibetan culture. Nature is inhabited by spirits with which it is important to maintain good relations. During this festival, thanks to an oracle, the people enter in direct contact with their tutelary deities.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 7: Repgong

  • Visit a small museum on thangka art opened by a vocational art school. It’s a good opportunity to familiarize yourself with the techniques, styles and religious meaning of thangka art and painting methods.
  • Visit Rongbo Monastery. It was first built in the 14th century by Lama Samten Rinchen, and then rebuilt in the 16th century by Lama Kelden Rinchen from the Géluk school of Tibetan Buddhism. Rongbo Monastery is now an important monastery with 35 branches in Repgong area.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 8: Repgong – Labrang (2 900 m)

  • Distance: 140 km. Approximate travel time: 4 hrs.
  • In the morning, you take a nice road that leads you to Labrang (Xiahe in Chinese) through small farmer villages, forests and rich grassland (you will stop many times to enjoy the scenery). Along the way you have lunch in a nomad family and visit Tsézhik Monastery of Bön tradition (Tibetan religion anterior to Buddhism).
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 9: Labrang

  • Visit Labrang Tashikhyil Monastery, the largest monastic complex of Amdo. This monastery was founded in 1709 by the first Künkhyen Jamyang Zhépa, who was regarded as an emanation of Master Tsongkhapa, the founder of the Géluk School. You will also visit the printing house of the monastery where you will see the traditional method of printing that uses intrically carved wooden blocks. These holy texts are printed in this monastery and then used in monasteries in the area. You are then free to walk around the monastery with pilgrims and in the nearby village and surrounding hills.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 10: Labrang – Taktsang Lhamo (3 300 m)

  • Distance: 280 km. Approximate travel time: 4 hrs.
  • You’ll drive to Taktsang Lhamo (Langmusi in Chinese), a small town with two Tibetan monasteries set beautifully in the mountains, forests and meadows which surround them.
  • Visit Kirti monastery, associated with the Dalaï-Lama’s Gélukorder. Behind the monastery there are twocaves, the Tiger Cave(Taktsang means Tiger’s Den in Tibetan) and the holy cave of Palden Lhamo (a female divinity and protector of Tibet). It is said that Padmasambhava, the great Buddhist master who introduced Buddhism to Tibet, came to bless this area, but the people did not dare approach it because of the presence of Much later, Kirti Rinpoché, a student of Tsongkhapa made the tigers leave, allowing pilgrims to access this sacred site and to make offerings to Palden Lhamo. A little further on you will find a path that enters a beautiful valley where you may stroll through a meadow with eagles and vultures circling above you.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 11: Taktsang Lhamo – Nomad Camp (3 600 m)

  • Distance: 90 km. Approximate travel time: 2 hrs.
  • In the morning, you will go to the Sertri monastery (Sertri means ‘golden throne’) from where you can enjoy the scenery, walk around and discover a sky burial site.
  • After lunch, you will drive to the vast grassland of Amdo and hike 3hrs to reach a nomad camp where a nomad family will welcome you. With the help of your Tibetan guide, you’ll converse with them and gain a first-hand understanding of their lifestyle and culture. You will have the opportunity to walk through pastures and see some of the wildlife that lives there (foxes, antelopes, black-necked cranes, and so on). Bring good walking shoes! Simple dinner cooked by the family.
  • Overnight:

 

Day 12: Nomad Camp

  • Today, you will wake-up early to watch the milking of the dri (female yaks) and take part, I you wish to, in your host family daily activities such as starting the stove, collecting and storing yak dungs, herding, preparing meals, making butter and yogurt…
  • Overnight:

 

Day 13: Camp de nomades – Linxia (2 000 m)

  • Distance: 360 km. Approximate travel time: 7 hrs.
  • In the morning, you go back to the road (2hrs hike) where your car will be waiting for you.
  • Departure to Linxia, a Muslim city with many mosques, formerly an important place on the Silk Road.
  • Along the wayyou will stop atTsö(Hezuo in Chinese) to visit Serkhar Gutok (meaning ‘golden castle nine-storey tower’). It commemorates an episode of the Milarepa’s life, one of Tibet’s most famous and influential yogis. The tower’s nine storeys have many statues of eminent lay and religious Tibetan historical figures arranged based on the Buddhist traditions they were associated with.
  • In Linxia, walk around in the streets and along the local markets where Tibetan traders come to buy carpets, religious objects, stones, knives, etc.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 14: Linxia – Jampa Kumbum – Lanzhou (1 600 m)

  • Distance: 300 km. Approximate travel time: 5 hrs.
  • To reachthe siteof the caves ofKumbumJampa(Binglingsi in Chinese), you’ll drive for 1 hour and take a boat. You’ll arrive at a site of stunning Jampa Kumbum means “100,000 Jampa” in Tibetan (Jampa is the name of the Buddha of the future). In these caves you’ll see a great range of important artistic styles. From the 5th century to the last Chinese dynasty, artists carved Buddhas of different sizes and styles in caves and in cliffs. There are 183 caves, 694 carved statues and 82 wooden statues. The frescoes are also quite beautiful. One 27-meter high statue in particular is very impressive. The statue depicts Jampa, “Maitreya” in Sanskrit, the Buddha of the future. After visiting this site, you travel on foot (a 1 hour walk or 10 minutes by car) and arrive at a small Tibetan monastery. This small monastery, survivor of the Cultural Revolution and home to only three monks, is so pleasant that we might spend hours drinking tea and talking with the passing pilgrims.
  • We’ll take the road toLanzhouinthe afternoon for the conclusion of our journey.
  • Overnight: Hotel.

 

Day 15: Departure from Lanzhou

  • Transfer to Lanzhou airport (1 to 2 hrs driving depending on traffic jam) for your return flight.

 

Please note that the transportation time is an estimation and doesn’t include stops to go to toilets, take pictures… The travel time might also be longer related to weather, road constructions or local traffic police policies.

 

Departure from From To Price
Chengdu 11 July 2017 25 July 2017 US$ 2614

Price for a group of 6 to 7 persons:

US$ 2,614 per person in dual occupancy – hotel or tent

US$ 2,931 per person in single occupancy* – hotel or tent


This price includes

  • The transfers mentioned in the program, by private vehicle with driver
  • Accommodation, breakfasts included
  • Lunches and dinners (drink included: tea or mineral water)
  • Entrance tickets for sites included in the program
  • Services of an English-speaking Tibetan guide
  • Days 11. 12 and 13: your luggage (one small bag per person) will be carried to the nomad camp, we will provide you with tents and camping mattresses but not with sleeping bags (it is possible to rent sleeping bags in Xining if you inform us when you register to this trip. Renting price: US$45).
  • Airfare from Chengdu to Lhasa (Day 1) and from Lanzhou to Chengdu (Day 15)

 

This price excludes

  • Your Chinese visa fee
  • Health and accident insurance
  • Medical or repatriation costs
  • International airfares
  • Extra expenses due to circumstances beyond our control
  • Drinks and personal expenses
  • Sleeping bags for camps
  • Tips for guide and driver

* For homestay, it is not possible to have an individual room.


Accommodation

Following hotels or similar:
Xining: Jinjiang Inn Hotel (2*)
Trika: Ledu Hotel (2*)
Repgong: Repgong Hotel (2*)
Labrang : Baoma Hotel (2*)
Taktsang Lhamo: Lhamo Hotel (2*)
Linxia: Linxia hotel (2*)
Lanzhou: Lanzhou hotel (2*)

Please note accommodations listed are rated and assessed by Global Nomad
2* = Simple and clean
3* = Nice, very comfortable

Homestays – Very limited comfort. There are no bathrooms, a basin and hot water will be provided for washing (hands, face, teeth, etc.). There are very basic Tibetan style toilets outside.

Concerning the night at the nomad camp, it is an experience that we highly recommend, however, be aware that you may not sleep much. Indeed, dogs barks continuously at night to ward off wolves, and at 5am, women get up to start their workday.

 

Due to the high altitude of the places visited, it is essential to be in good physical condition to register to this trip. If your health is not so good, you should check with a doctor before taking the decision of coming to Tibet. During the trip, it is important to drink a lot of water (about 2 liters per day).

We reserve the right to modify the itinerary should circumstances beyond our control, namely those related to the specific situation of Tibetan areas, require us to do so.

It is strictly forbidden to talk about political matters with guides and Tibetans in general. This could have extremely serious consequences for them, the driver, the local agency and all agencies’ employees. Likewise, it’s forbidden to bring anything that could make local authorities unhappy.

During the trip, clients must follow the instructions of the guide and of the local agency.



Jimpa Travel
Ask a question
Book Now

Download

Farmers and Nomads of Amdo

Find a Travel

Departure